Bhagavad Gita

Monday, July 6, 2009

Control Yourself _ Lesson III

Freedom from Kama, Krodha, Raga and Dvesha and possession of balance of mind, cosmic love, astral vision, supreme fearlessness, desirelessness, Siddhis, divine intoxication and spiritual Ananda are the signs to denote the awakening of Kundalini. When it is at rest, a man has full consciousness of the world and its surroundings. When it is awakened he is dead to the world. He has no body-consciousness. He attains Unmani state (Turiya, 4th dimension of consciousness). When Kundalini travels from Chakra to Chakra, layer after layer of the mind opens and the Yogi acquires psychic powers. He gets control over the five elements. When it reaches the Sahasrara Chakra, he is in the Chidakasa (knowledge space).

Kama, Krodha, Raga and Dvesha: desire, anger, attachment, and hatred

Note: Unmani = Un + Manas = Rising + Mind = a higher state of Consciousness

From the head of the Lord of mountains, the celestial waterfall flows down constantly taking prana along Nādi.

(Nādi: three tubular organs of breath or Prana: itai, pinkalai, and cuzimunai –ĪDĀ, PINGALĀ, SUSUMNĀ, simply Ida, Pingala and Susumna) Nad means flow or motion. Nadi is a channel. The three channels are in the spinal column and don’t expect a student of anatomy to elegantly dissect all three channels for you to see and follow them from the Muladhara Chakra to Sahasrara plane. These are Yoga Nadis as opposed to physical Nadis such as arteries, veins etc. These are subtle channels or Sukshma Nadis, which are 14 in number and the most talked about and important Nadis are Ida, Pingala and Susumna, of which Susumna is the most important.

Susumna Nadi is three Nadis in one, one inside the other. See the cross section below to have an idea of its configuration. Brahma Nadi is the central channel, around which is the Vajra Nadi, around which is the Chitra Nadi. Kundali power travels along Brahma Nadi. This three-channel cluster runs along the central canal (canalis centralis) of the spinal cord.

Let Kundalini get up and rise from Muladhara through the vertebral column, hold it like a stork at the dam's sluice gate and sit in tranquillity and oneness of thought; you will live forever. Time and Life will remain together when one practices Pranayama properly. Practice Pranayama in silence; silent thoughts are a treasure trove; open mouth (talking) leads to dispersal of breath; closed mouth (silence) takes you to the lunar plane; If the gates do not open, it (breath) turns back in timidity. Breath control helps one lead a long life in a body with two doors and seven windows. Two doors = two nostrils. Seven windows = two ears, two eyes, mouth, anus and genital. If five of ten Vayus (breaths) of the body exit, what goodness does it serve? Waking and praying do not help. Only breath control will restrain the monkey of a mind. Dharana is retrograde involution of body's five senses in five elements, latter in five cognitive internal organs, the latter in tanmatras, and the latter in the Uncreated Being. That is the way to practice Dharana in stages.

Click Here

Bookmark and Share

1 comment: