Bhagavad Gita

Monday, July 6, 2009

Principles of Tantra - Lesson 1

There are 8 fold of yoga according to siddhas. The science of breath control is part of Ashtanga Yogam, which includes Kavacha, Nyasa and Mudra.

The aim of the various kinds of yogas is to destroy the ego and find one’s true identity, that is Atman; and the result is that he experiences kaivalya, bliss and liberation.Kaivalya is the state of absolute freedom and splendid isolation; Purusa detaches itself from prakrti. Before one experiences Kaivalya, one should make sure that one meets certain qualifications, known as Angas (which means limb or body parts):

(1) Yama (Don’ts): sexual abstinence, ahimsa (noninjury), no lies, no theft,no greed.

(2) Niyama (Dos): meditation on Brahman or Isvara; mauna (silence); study of Vedas, Upanishads, and moksa-promoting literature; repeating of mantra OM; ascetic practice; clean body and mind; contentment; God-Pleasing actions.

(3) Asana: body positions and postures.

(4) Prānayama: breath control.

(5) Pratyahara (withdrawal): no contact between senses and objects of senses. This should come natural to him.

(6) Dharana: concentration and focus of mind on an object or idea.

(7) Dyana: meditation.

(8) Samadhi: Convergence, one-pointedness, Subject and object (Yogi) unity.


There are 8.4 million asanas, of which 1,600 are considered desirable, thirty-two are auspicious, nine are important and two are the most commonly used. Asanas are postures of body (sitting, standing on foot, feet or head, locks (bhandas), lying on abdomen, back or sides), placement of hands and feet in various positions, holding the fingers in various configurations, selective obstructions or closing of the anus, genitals, ears, eyes, mouth, nostrils, posterior choanae (control of the nine gates of the city of body), fixation of eyes. Asana, controlling the body, is a prelude to controlling the mind, clearing the mind of thoughts, and entertaining correct thought. A good asana causes no discomfort and keeps the body immobile.

The important Asanas:










In this Padmasana (Lotus pose) is the best. The posture consists of the following movements.

●Sit on the floor and stretch the feet in front of you.

●Place the right foot on the left thigh.

●Place the left foot on the right thigh.

●Place the left hand over the left knee.

●Place the right hand over the right knee.

●Bring the tip of the index finger of each hand in contact with the middle of the thumb (Chinmudra).

●Keep your head, neck and spine in one straight line.

●Tell yourself that you are steady as a rock.

●Sit in that position for half hour to start with and gradually increase the duration up to three hours.

●It takes about a year to sit still steadily for three hours.

●Do not start on another Asana until you master Padmasana.

Now Bhadrakasana = Bhadraka (fine, handsome, beautiful) + asana.

Pranayama: [Praanayaama = Praana + Aayaama = breath +lengthening. ]

Prana is compared to a steed which would carry a master and throws down the weak one. The destination is Samadhi; for that to happen the mind has to have control over the senses. It is important to gain control of two steeds, which are the Ida and Pingala breaths of the left and right nostrils. They can be mastered with the grace of the Gurus. The steeds of Prana move faster than a bird. If Pranayama is mastered, the exhilaration is greater than that from imbibing toddy (home-made country liquor). It gives jauntiness to gait and whips laziness. Once Pranayama becomes the second nature of the mind, both Nadis become tranquil and there is no more birth and death. Master the technique of controlling the flow of left and right breaths and the nectar of life is yours.

Pranayama consists of three parts:
Pūrakam, Kumpakam, and (I) Resakam:
Inhalation, retention, and exhalation.These are timed units.

Inhalation lasts for 16 mātras (6.4 seconds)
retention for 64 mātras (25.6S)
exhalation for 32 mātras (12.8S)

If you master Pranayama, the ripe old body will become young and hardy; with the grace of Guru, you will become lighter than air. You can practice Pranayama anywhere, any place and your body will not perish and you can defy Death.

In Pūrvakam, inhale breath which pervades up and down and in the middle;
In Kumpakam retain the breath around your navel;
In Resakam the breath is absorbed (as you let out the expired air).

Inhale by left nostril, retain it in the pit of the navel, exhale it by right nostril and you have seen the Truth. As you breathe in deep and steady, the prana suffuses ten Nadis; retain the breath and follow it up with slow exhalation. Sit straight and win over Death. Pranayama purifies the body, turns the limbs ruddy, and hair dark; God never wants to leave your body.
Click Here

Bookmark and Share

1 comment:

  1. very nice a very well spiritual should be followed by all in this universe..these are not religions specific rather these are creatures specific.